Some people say the government should spend money on providing faster public transport while others believe the government should give priority to other factors such as cost and the effect on the environment. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

While there are people who think that speed of public transportation should be the top factor in government-backed development, other people, including me, critic this idea and believe that factors, such as cost or influence on the environment, are more important issues. I will elaborate on my reasoning to disagree with this idea in the following paragraphs.

There are more important issues besides the speed of vehicles, which should be considered in the development of public transportations. In terms of cost, demographics of public transports users, such as employees or university students, are sensitive to a sharp increase in prices. Thus, if a new development leads to a high jump in the cost of the metro or bus, users might consider using their personal vehicles, which means more traffics and emission of carbon dioxide. From an environmental perspective, most modern cities already have established infrastructures with little space for new projects. Thus, new plans replace current outdated structures, leading to a huge amount of wastes. As developing countries have already issues with waste management due to the high amount of consumption, they cannot absorb huge amounts of waste to the new projects easily. Therefore, governments should consider the environmental consequences of a new project before ahead.

However, there are indeed merits with having faster buses and metros. Daily commuters would save a lot of time by faster transits and could spend their saved time on either works or family, which in both cases increases people's utility of life. However, adverse side effects of this plan stop implementing this project without considering other factors.

In conclusion, I think speed is an important factor in the development of public transportation; however, we should take into the account other major and more important criteria, such as cost and the effect on the environment.