Some people say that historical buildings should be knocked down, while others believe that they should be preserved and restored instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a controversial question in modern cities about dealing with historical places: should they be knocked down or renovated and preserved instead. This essay believes that authorities should keep these places due to their cultural values, and views behind both perspectives will be discussed in this essay.

Modern constructors support the idea of replacing old buildings due to several reasons. In the term of efficiency, modern apartments not only could save energy due to sophisticated materials and technologies, but also, they would let more people live in high-rise apartments, which could help real estate market to meet the high demands of new residents. The high maintenance cost of old buildings is also a considerable factor. If governments decide to conserve a historic building as it is, they should allocate substantial funds to renovate and solving problems due to an outdated structure.

However, critics often highlight the importance of historical buildings for their cultural values. Most of these buildings, with their detailed designs and historical story, could provoke the sense of identity and nostalgia in observants, yet inhabitants of modern cities, would not feel the same way with all tall emotion-less buildings. Furthermore, despite a high-cost of conservation, these building attracts tourists from all around the world, leading to a profitable scheme for local authorities. For example, millions of tourists visit historical places of cities, such as Rome, London, or Istanbul, and make conservation plan sensible for local governments.

In conclusion, although replacing an old building with new constructions could save us money, we should take aside material consideration and consider the cultural values of these places.