Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is true that there is widespread acceptance among all people about ever-growing environmental challenges. However, some people think that the decreasing population of endangered animals and plants is the most important issue, while others believe that there are more devastating problems, which are needed to be addressed immediately. This essay follows the opinion that there are indeed more concerning issues, other than endangered rare breeds and reasons behind both perspectives will be provided below.

Environmentalists argue that reducing numbers of endangered animals and plants is alarming for several reasons. Firstly, the extinction of species would cause changes in natural habitat around them, leading to possible food chain disruption. Thus, besides the importance of each of them, the dependency of other species would cause devastating effects, which could change our ecosystem in the long-term. Secondly, critics mentioned that all alive species are results of millions of years of the evolution and scientific values of each of them is undeniable. Thus, by studying these species, biologists could depict a better picture of our surrounding environment, helping us to have a better understanding of the mother earth. These studies have also helped scientists to develop drugs to tackle illnesses.

However, it seems that there are other major environmental challenges, which are needed more attention. Global warming is a widespread problem, which raised concerned worldwide. In fact, many consider it as the main reason behind the repeated occurrence of natural disasters, such as hurricane or tsunami. These devastating consequences have led to several conferences, government-backed programs to raise awareness and global movement among developing countries to address this issue. Besides that, depleting non-renewable energy are another obstacle. While countries need more fuel these days due to the rising population and growing economy, the main resources, such as oil and gas, are finishing and renewable-energy is not well-developed enough to meet the demand. This might lead to rises in fuel prices or political tensions between countries to access the resources.

In conclusion, while we could not deny the vital importance of endangered animals and plants, the world faces bigger and more important challenges, such as global warming and finishing renewable energy.