Some people say that the Olympic Games don’t have a role to play in the 21st century. Do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion.

Thanks to globalization and technology advancement, international sporting events such as Olympics have the biggest fan following. Although some feel that these events are not important for this century, I, however, believe that it is very essential for two main reasons.

Firstly, it is a place where talented people showcase their talents. Many players work dedicatedly to get qualified for Olympics as it provides them worldwide recognition. For instance, an Indian wrestler named Yogeshwar, who came in limelight after becoming a gold medalist in Olympics 2012. Similarly, James Boult, South African racer, got a huge fan following after his breath-taking performance in the final match in Olympics 2007. So, these sporting events are the places which motivate players to work hard as it makes them a celebrity.

Another reason is the cultural diversity. During the match, people of different countries often sit together which gives them an opportunity to come to know about each other lifestyles. Moreover, these international games support middle or small scale businessmen to increase their income. For example, small scale companies get a chance to sell their handmade products to spectators. Hence, not only are Olympics a way of cultural exchange, but it also allows them to earn more.

In conclusion, not only does Olympics provide a new place to the players to showcase their talent to a wider audience, but it also helps the host country to stimulate their economy by boosting small level business. Therefore, I believe that international sports events are essential.