Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.Discuss both views and give your own opp

Being bilingual in today’s world proves very advantageous. It is often argued that people study a different language for travel and work purposes, whereas others believe that bilingualism offers far more benefits. This essay will discuss a variety of reasons as to why learning another tongue can be constructive.

There is no doubt that mastering a foreign language can help one to obtain better employment opportunities and to travel overseas. Multiple studies show that bilingual people can easily acquire a job than those who speak only one language. Furthermore, modern companies often branch out into international markets (thus requiring interpreters), while others offer translation jobs as part-time work alongside permanent employment.

However, the idea that work and travel are the sole reasons for learning another language is completely unjustified. Many people enjoy learning a foreign language simply out of personal interest, while others desire to learn about different cultures to study and even live abroad. For example, a person who wishes to know more about Chinese culture and traditions may journey to China. This provides an ample opportunity to study the language, as well as integrate with the society there. Additionally, research carried out by Harvard University revealed that unilingual children are less intelligent with greater behavioural problems as compared to their multilingual counterparts. These reasons alone illustrate the value and importance of learning another language.

In conclusion, learning another language holds far more purposes than simply work and travel. This essay argued the significance and quality bilingualism offers. In my opinion, language is the key to understanding and synchronization between one another in today’s rapidly advancing world.