Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime(misdeed, unlawful act, illegal act).Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Criminal activities have been increasing over the last few decades. Due to this, several people think that to decrease these illegal acts extended prison sentences are the appropriate way. While others with dissimilar thoughts believe that there have been numerous alternatives which can be utilised. How could we work for reducing the criminal acts? Thorough scrutiny of the above will lead to an insightful response.

While it is convenient to adopt one aspect over the other, I prefer to represent a counterbalanced ergo objective assessment. In my opinion, people, who have committed crime must be punished for longer period. However, to diminish the crime, there are definitely some alternatives for consideration.

The following two paragraphs will detail both aspects extensively.

First and foremost, a frightening punishment to an individual, committing misdeed in the society is the excellent way to make people afraid of attempting such illegal acts. Secondly, reduction the impact of these criminal thoughts on other impressionable minds is mandatory to refrain the future crimes.

For instance, A study published in a crime magazine has published an article that how a frustrating prisoner forced teenagers to commit crimes for revenge.

On the contrary, Identification of the root cause of the crime executed and accordingly provision of an adequate sentencing could lead to a significant difference in an individual’s life. Apart from that, for an improvement of society, prisoners could perform voluntarily work. This, eventually will rejuvenate their minds. In support of the above, in Netherlands, management of prisons analyses the root causes of each and every criminal’s act and accordingly the improvisation procedures are followed.

Keeping all of the above-mentioned facts in mind, benefits such as intimidating punishments and protecting impressional minds are evident. In contrast, finding predominant reasons and enhancements in society are well worthy of equivalent consideration. To conclude, as is with most things in life, there are two sides to the matter. Fortunately, in this case, both of these can be constructive.