Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the numbers of crimes are increased than earlier and people have different views to punish them. Although some feel that few offenders must allow doing voluntary work, I, however, believe that the types of crime and circumstances of a criminal must be considered before reaching to any verdict.

Firstly, those who commit minor crimes should not put behind the bars. Children sometimes do shoplifting and pickpocketing under the influence of bad company and without knowing the consequences. I think that these minor crimes are not strong enough to send an offender in the prison. In addition, by allowing them to do unpaid work, street criminals will have one chance to correct their wrongdoings.

Secondly, the circumstances under which a crime is committed must be taken into consideration. Many people often commit crimes due to their poor family condition. If someone has committed any crime for the sake of their family, then the offender must allow doing unpaid work as it will not only give him the satisfaction and fulfillment but can also help him to get some work later on.

However, despite the arguments above, those who are either committing crimes repeatedly or doing major crimes should put behind bars. Serious criminals often do hijacking, kidnapping and other crimes to earn money in less time, without the fear of jury system, so serious punishments are required for such cases. A good illustration of this is Russia, where the jury system has the death penalty for murderers and rapists. Due to these punishments, criminals think twice before indulging in any wrong activity.

In conclusion, I believe that minor criminals should allow doing some unpaid work for the community as perhaps it will prevent them from vulnerable activities. Also, I feel that judges should sentence prison imprisonment to serious criminals.