Some people think that children should be studying all the mandatory subjects until the age of ten while others believe they should have an option to select favourite subjects to study What is your opinion Give reasons for your answer and include relevant

It is often debated that school children should be studying their favorite subjects instead of studying all the subjects at least till the age of ten. A recent study shows that in 70% countries, students ought to learn the mandatory subjects irrespective of their choice till they go to their mid-grade classes at the age of 12. In my opinion, children must study all the subjects in school to have an elementary knowledge on all subjects. This can be proved by the following essay.

Firstly, children start school at the age of five and they need at least six years of formal education that contains all subjects like mathematics, science, social studies. This will not only precursor them to have a basic understanding of the subject but also enables them to use it when needed. For example, a person may not like math subject however he wants to know the rudimentary arithmetic operations for his livelihood. Hence it is important for a child to know the basic of all subjects for his livelihood.

On the same vein, they are extremely young to choose their choice of subject and hence their selection may be go mistaken. Parents may not be competent to advise them on the subjects they choose. Therefore, the decision of the children may go wrong. Additionally, children are more interested in games rather than studies in their young age. They will have an obvious distraction in choosing the subject. For instance, if we give the choice of selection to the children, about 80% of the students select Sports subject as their main course.

All things considered, we have to give the freedom of selecting the subject once they attain their teen age and all the subjects should be made mandatory until the age of ten. I hope students leverage this kind of strategy for their betterment in their academic education.