Some people think that children who spend alot of time reading children s story books are wasting their time which could be better used doing other more useful activities To what extent do you agree or disagree

Reading a lot of story books by children's leisure activity is debatable. Some people claim that it is a waste of time instead children can do other useful activities. I completely disagree with this statement. Reading story books improve the language skills in children and other useful activities like playing outdoor games, drawing and painting might not be of any help to a child who is not interested in these activities.

Firstly, reading a story book at an early age will improve a child's learning ability. In addition, the language skills will develop for instance, children can develop good vocabulary and grammar. Moreover, the cognitive ability of these tender brains will develop when they read more story books. For example, Sherlock Holmes the great detective writer was a voracious reader during his childhood days. Therefore, reading story books is not a waste of time instead it will help the children to develop their language skills.

Secondly, other useful activities like playing games outside, drawing or painting might not suit everyone. Because some children who are physically challenged cannot play outside. Similarly, not all children are interested in art, instead they may prefer to study. To cite an example, I was never interested in drawing or painting during my childhood days, despite my parents insisted that it was a good activity. Although, some free time activities are universally accepted as good, still reading story books is not a bad choice. In fact, it has more positive effects on the overall personality development of a child.

In conclusion, even though free time activities like drawing and painting are useful, some children might not be interested. However, spending time by reading story books will benefit children to enhance their language skills. As a result, it is not a waste of time instead every child must be encouraged to read books.