Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody,
regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to
retire and receive a pension at an earlier age.
Do you agree or disagree?
Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?
It might seem unfair to some people to set same retirement age for everybody despite working in different profession.
They are of the view that it is the right of some workers to retire and get person at an early age. I strongly believe
that retirement age should vary for different professions.
To begin with, there are people who believe that all humans work and dedicate their time to profession in one way or
other, therefore every worker should retire at the same age of other workers. For example, according to the medical
science, an average human can be mentally and physically fit upto 60 years of age.
On the other hand, some people opine to setting of retirement age according to the professions. In their view, some
jobs demand more energy as compared to others which affects the health of a person both physically and mentally and
are prone to some serious health issues in case of working at old age. For instance, a worker working in oil fields
need to work for longer hours than a normal person working in offices and also, is exposed to toxic gases which are
hazardous to their health, hence probablity of getting infections.
Anyhow, the type of workers to be considered for early retirement should be limited in order for justice to prevail.
In my opinion, people working in military and in fields should be given an early retirement and pension because
people of these occupations sacrifice their family life and health for their country.
In conclusion, to create a just system in the society it is pertinent to set retirement age depending on the nature
of the work a person is involved throughout his life.