Some people think that human history has been a journey from ignorance to knowledge. Others argue that this underestimates the achievements of ancient cultures, and overvalues our achievements.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

One can often hear a thought that our ancestors had a limited understanding of the world compared to people today. While our modern societies have indeed excelled in technology and science, ancient civilizations achieved remarkable progress in their own ways, and therefore it would be incorrect to view human development as linear.

Many people believe that the biggest achievement of people is science and technology, and that the development of these areas happened gradually. One commonly cited example is information technology that has transformed our lives in many domains, such as work, study, keeping in touch with friends and relatives. Thanks to information technology, we can now hear and see each other, exchange documents, photographs and other media even when we are in different locations. It has made our lives more efficient and has allowed us to redefine our work and free time.

At the same time, some ancient civilizations were so advanced that even our modern science cannot explain their achievements.The Egyptian pyramids are a vivid illustration of this. Modern science is still unable to recreate such imposing constructions. Furthermore, there are other areas, like art and philosophy, where ancient civilizations made remarkable progress, and in some cases can be said to be more advanced than ours.

To sum up, even though we live in the times of remarkable technological breakthroughs, there are many lessons that modern societies can learn from ancient civilizations. It would be a bit mistake to view human development as a linear process, and dismiss great achievements of our forefathers.