Some people think it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that girls and boys benefit more from attending mixed schools. Which education system do you think is better? Why?

A section of society believes that male and female students should be taught separately, while few people prefer co-education for their children. In my opinion, co-education is always better choice as both the genders need to work together in every phase of life.

To begin with, we live in a world where both genders have equally important roles to play. Admittedly, if the students are taught separately based on gender, it would be difficult for them to understand the opposite gender. This could result in gender biases and may refrain them from approaching the opposite sex. Unequivocally, such behavioral impact that comes due to gender-based schooling proves detrimental for the child's development. For example, a girl in my neighborhood studied in girls institute from the beginning and she never learned how to talk with another sex, which made her less competent in jobs.

Another reason for opting mixed schooling is about learning to compete with opposite gender. When the schools are categorised based on gender, the school would incorporate the activities that interest the specific gender. However, in co-education, all the sports and activities are taught irrespective of gender. For example, girls would learn to play cricket while boys would learn stitching their shirt button on their own.

On the other hand, the critics of co-education can argue that male and female should be taught based on their capabilities and interests. According to them, there is no need for girls to learn boxing as it would be stressful and irrelevant to her. Similarly, there can be activities like embroidery and stitching which would be less useful for boys; still, they will need to learn them.

In conclusion, I pen down saying that modern schools should emphasize on co-education as they will know to adapt, compete and grow prosperously with the opposite gender. The world consists of both the genders and co-education helps to understand each other effectively. Although gender-based schooling facilitates certain benefits of focussed learning based on gender; but, we live in a highly competitive world where males and females stand together and work hand-in-hand. Thus, after close analysis, co-education is the best learning approach for today's generation.