Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

A section of society believes that male and female students should be taught separately, while few people prefer co-education for their children. Both groups have their own opinions to support the argument. However, in my opinion, co-education is always a better choice as both genders work together in every phase of life.

To begin with, we live in a world where both genders have equally important roles to play. Admittedly, if the male and female students are taught separately, they will only learn to work and mingle with the same gender. Such pupils might refrain themselves and show reluctance in working with the opposite sex. Unequivocally, such behavioral impact that comes due to gender-based schooling proves detrimental for the child's development. For example, a girl in my neighborhood studied in girls institute from the beginning and she never learned how to talk with another sex, which made her less competent in jobs.

Another reason for opting mixed schooling is about learning to compete with the opposite gender. When the schools are categorized based on gender, the school would incorporate the activities that interest the specific gender. However, in co-education, all the sports and activities are taught irrespective of gender. For example, girls would learn to play cricket while boys would learn to stitch their shirts button on their own.

On the other hand, the critics of co-education argue that males and females should be taught based on their capabilities and interests. According to them, there is no need for girls to learn boxing as it would be stressful for her. Similarly, there can be activities like embroidery and stitching which would be irrelevant to boys.

In conclusion, I pen down saying that modern schools should emphasize on co-education as they will know to adapt, compete and grow prosperously with the opposite gender. Although gender-based schooling fosters gender-focussed learning; but, we live in a highly competitive world where males and females stand together and work hand-in-hand. Thus, after close analysis, co-education is the best learning approach for today's generation.