Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Which opinion do you agree with? Discuss both options and give examples.

In this day and age, keeping pets have become a status symbol. The debatable topic is that, whether having pets are beneficial or detrimental for younger ones. In my opinion, pets are quite valuable for adolescent’s physical as well as psychological well-being.

On one hand, a pet in child’s life is a great source to learn numerous values which will be helpful in longer run. With pets, children attain sense of responsibility at an early age. They empathize the domestic animals in the time of need and take utmost care of them. Pets befriend with children easily and thus, share a strong bond of love and affection and consequently, this aid in developing social skills at tender age. According to the recent survey by Children welfare team, 39% of teenagers are proactive to make friends during camping. Hence, I certainly agree, that children having pets is a good thing.

On the other hand, few people think that animals in young ones live are always in perilous. Children are vulnerable and posses less immune system as compared to adults. Generally, pets have bacteria as they roam around contaminated places during their routine walks. Therefore, juveniles easily get infected by coming in contact with them and fall prey to hazardous ailments. For instance, Dogs shower their love to the caretakers by touching their body and face and as a result impurities of polluted places affect the owner and make them sick. However, with proper vaccination and precautions such problems can be deterred.

In conclusion, although, people vary in their opinions, I concur that pets are human’s best friend and they equally contribute to the holistic development of children by instilling moral values which will help them to become a responsible citizen of the society.