Some people think that men are naturally more competitive than women.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is generally believed that males are genetically programmed as better competitors in comparison to their female counterparts. I do not think it is rationally acceptable and I would like to explain why in the upcoming paragraphs.

The very first point that can almost rule out this notion is the fact that women also carry the potential to do everything that men can do, regardless of the field of work. Juxtaposing them against men, who have been the dominating figure in the society from the time immemorial, it can be seen that as the barriers which used to keep the women harbored in their houses busy in their chores have demolished, the potential of women has been revealed as greater than men in many areas. To exemplify, there are many multinational conglomerates these days which are witnessing unparallel success under the congenial guidance of female leaders. Pepsi and Yahoo are two of these many. In addition, the appointment of three female jet-fighter pilots in the Indian Air Force is another mentionable aspect here as it cannot be denied that there is a great deal of competition in this field.

Moving further, apart from these weighty matters, there are some general facets of life which can further disprove this conventional picture. Women possess some innate qualities which make them compete with others, more as compared to men. They always want to appear better than other female acquaintances, they want to buy everything of the optimum quality even if they have to kill for it and they never think of compromising if there is even a tiny room for edification. On the other hand, males are of different nature. They tend to become satisfied with what they have and try to maintain their position rather than envying others and manipulating their lifestyle. Although, this makes them better in a way, but they unknowingly lack a trait that is necessary to outshine others, that is competitiveness.

To conclude, it would be wrong to opine that men are more competitive than women by nature, as women today are matching their shoulders with their opposite gender and are always ready to go to any extent for the betterment of themselves and their dependents.