Some people think that old people need to live in special communities, but others believe they should live with their family and adult children. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a controversial debate regarding where elderly people should live: in special community places or in a home with their family. This essay believes that it is in the best of interest of a family if old people live with their children and the reasons behind both perspectives will be discussed in this essay.

There is a substantial upside if elderly people live in special places, where elaborately designed to fulfill their needs. As people get older, they will encounter different illnesses, such as cancer, or heart conditions, which are needed special attention on a daily basis or in the case of emergency. In most community places these days, experienced nurses and advanced medical facilities are available to service residents, which make living there more convenient than a residential apartment. Furthermore, with rising expenses of living in cities and increasing rents, families are forced to live in small apartments, leaving less space for grandparents to live with their adult children.

However, we could not deny the benefit of living with family for old people. With dual-income families become more common in modern society, grandparents would become handy by being at home during the day, taking care of children, and helping in house chores. In this case, parents do not force to hire a nanny for their long working hours or register their children for extracurricular activities to fulfill the after-hours gap. In the term of emotional supports, both family and elderly would benefit by living in a close proxy to each other. For instance, researches recently point the significant improvement in the psychological well-being of senior citizens who move from community places to their families. It is worth to notice that adults and children would also satisfy emotionally markedly by having their loved ones at home.

In conclusion, although recently community places become more convenient to live for the elderly, this essay believes that, despite the challenges, advantages of living with family outweigh its drawbacks.