Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of the society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is thought by some people that school teachers are totally responsible for our children’s education. Allegedly, pupils ought to receive not only knowledge related to educational subjects, but ethic rules about their behavior as members of society. To some extend I can agree with this statement, but there are also some details I want to clarify.

It is undisputable fact that children have been obtaining their first education (in Ukraine) for twelve years. They’ve been taught a lot of scientific and non-scientific disciplines including subjects related to medicine, art, geography. Contemporary teachers have been paying much attention also for the children’s relationship, the way they speaking each other, behave on the lessons et cetera. In my opinion, this is not enough to raise a good person.

The matter is that, young charges are very sensitive in their age, they adsorb behavior of their parents, siblings, teachers, older friends. Teachers could not be responsible for children’s actions, while they are beyond the school. That’s impossible.

To approve my meaning, I want give a clear example about the similar situation, happened with my friend Dmitri. He is a businessman and very rich. He has been so caught up with his job for the last 10 years, that he almost missed how he’s own daughter became an addict two years ago. When Dmitri’s daughter was 15, he sent her for studying to a very expansive college and never controlled her studying process. She felt herself free from parent’s supervision started her own “private life” with drugs. Thanks God she’s all right now, but who knows what could be further if Dmitri hadn’t become aware about this problem.

In conclusion, I’d like to say that education facilities are very important in our children’s life. Most parents are not able to spend their time to teach their kids scientific subjects, but they must learn them to be good citizens of our nation at any cost.