Some people think rest and sleep are the best methods to relax while others think that it can be done by involving in some activities like sports.

Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

Certain sections of the society believe that sleeping is the most suitable option to attain relaxation whereas some people are of a different opinion. Though, indulging in outdoor or indoor physical activity can calm the body & mind but it can never be the substitute of a good night sleep. This essay will discuss both sides of the coin but eventually stand by the fact that the later approach is the best.

To begin with, sleeping has been related to many bodily functions as well as its effects on the physical and mental hygiene. It has already been proved by innumerable scientists that a sound sleep helps in prevention of several diseases as well as calming the mind. A person who has spent half of the day in office and negotiated with traffic needs deep sleep to ward off the accumulated stress on his/her body as well as mind. Moreover, if the person chooses not to do so & keeps on pushing themselves is bound to have a physical or nervous breakdown sooner than later. For instance, a recent study involved two groups of people, where on group was asked to sleep at least 6-8 hours and the other was requested to not to sleep more than 6 hours in a day. The former group had better cognitive function as well as relaxed muscles, whereas, the later group lacked in all the department listed above.

On the other hand, few skeptics or rather cynics are of the opinion that rest is a relative term and one can participate in a physical activity to shrug off tiredness. A few minutes of yoga & meditation can ease off those contracted muscles in your legs, arms, shoulders as well as your head. Recently released research also suggests that involving in sports releases plethora of heart healthy hormones called dopamine, endorphins and testosterone that provide benefits as good as sleep. For example, A major experiment done on successful people and billionaires has revealed some shocking facts and surprising numbers. Almost all of them sleep for no more than 5 hours in a day & yet are health, wealthy and wise.

Finally, there seem to be a lot of innovate ways to give your body and brain rest but at the same time a lot of more extensive and in-depth research needs to be done. In the meanwhile its never harmful to follow a tried and tested approach which mankind had been following/practicing for donkey number of years.