Some people think that schools should use teaching methods that encourage students to cooperate. Other people think that schools should use teaching methods that encourage students to compete. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The debate over the issue of choosing the way of education in schools has not been put to rest. This begs the question: is studying in groups preferable in today's world? While cooperation reveals several advantages for both teachers and pupils, I still firmly believe that encouraging students to compete is a more beneficial approach in this case.

Several reasons are at the root of the opinion why competition between students is more rewarding. The main one is that this type of education provides better results for pupils and, thus, a higher score of them. This is because when you are in a challenge you face a real competitor, and, as a consequence, you want to win – it is one of the basic feelings of men. Another reason is that this way helps to acquire knowledge faster. In my experience, once, when I was in school almost twenty years ago, I had an individual-task challenge in Math in which I won. Not only do I remember the details of this contest precisely, but I also have a clear image of some mathematical theorems. Had it not been the case, I would not have remembered it so well.

According to the other school of thought, the cooperation between students has its advantages as well. It has been claimed that when pupils cooperate with each other while studying they develop their communicative skills which are pretty important nowadays. This method particularly useful for shy pupils. It broadens their interaction horizons. In addition, it appears that this is very useful for teachers too. This is due to the fact that it is just simpler for a teacher to give a task for a group and then to check it. So, this makes the learning process easier.

Having said that, cooperative method of studying brings an overall advantage in today's society. Therefore, in my opinion, its utilization should be encouraged. Not only helps it to develop strong personal skills, but it also allows us to study faster.