Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture they should adapt to the local practices and customs.

To what extent do you agree ?

These days many people travel abroad for work, business or education purposes. For most of them, they have very little cultural experience of the foreign land they are landing into. It is consider by some people that it is better for individuals to mould themselves into the local customs and practices of the new place. I completely agree with this notion, as it helps travelers to get good friends and avoid breaking rules as well.

Firstly, a major benefit of learning local traditions and practices is that it helps the person accustomed to its new society. As for many new-comers adapting to new customs may seem a difficult task, learning about local practices can help them unravel such problems. A good example would be participating in society gatherings and social functions; this will not only them to learn about local practices but also help them in building good relations with the society. On the other hand, if a person keep himself away from such things, locals will dintant themselves from him/her. Therefore, it is crucial to comprehend local traditions of the society for greater adaptability in the society.

Secondly, learning customs and rules of a new country is also very important from travelers prospectus. This is because, many countries have different laws according to their local cultures and habits. For instance, in gulf counties, it is consider illegal to consume alcohol without a valid permit. A person who is unaware of such rules may end up in jail or paying heavy penalties for not abiding the law. Hence, learning about the customs of different culture help in a hassle free experience in the country.

To sum up, adapting into local traditions and customs is beneficial for a person who is travelling, as it will help him/her to become a part of society and get familiar with the rules of it.