Some people trust their first impressions about a person’s character because they believe these judgments are generally correct. Other people do not judge a person’s character quickly because they believe first impressions are often wrong.

Compare these two attitudes. Which attitude do you agree with?

The quote; ‘We get only one chance to make first impression’ is a famous one that shows the importance of building a reputable image of ourselves in the first meet. However, since long time, whether this intuition should be trusted or not, has been a contentious subject. This essay will discuss both the views before coming to a reasoned conclusion.

Since the dawn of early men, human brain has evolved gradually to be cautious about danger as this was crucial for their security. For instance, imagine a group of prehistoric men accidentally coming across another such bunch. Within moments they have to decide if there is any impending peril that can be caused by the strangers. Similarly, even after million years, we use the same instinct to judge people around us. Citing this, a segment of our society believes that this innate characteristic of human beings should be trusted in weighing an unfamiliar individual.

Contrarily, we also have to acknowledge that a person’s code of conduct at any time depends on various factors such as; their level of nervousness at that moment, their nature to react to novel situations and so on. Moreover, every person is multifaceted and we may be exposed to only one of their multiple angles. Furthermore, attempting to evaluate such a complicated human personality in initial meeting itself may turn into a dreadful blunder and also, we have to keep in mind that people tend to have their guard up always and it will take a while for them to expose their true self and take someone as their confidant.

Concisely, it is the nature of anyone to access unknown people. But, we should never jump to conclusions and make snap judgement based on how someone made us feel when we met them for the first time.