The subjects that children are taught in schools are decided by central authorities. Some people say that teachers, not politicians, should be responsible for this task. To what extent you agree or disagree with this opinion?

From last several decades, countries have been evolving their educational systems and frequently bringing latest technologies and areas to explore. Experienced educationalists join the academic agencies and continuously provide their feedbacks for improvements and taking the academic to the next ladder. Several people believe that government should not be deciding the curriculum rather it is the teachers who should be taking a call on that matter.

Various thoughts are there in who should take prime responsibility of deciding the school academic curriculum. To begin with, central government have experienced academic professionals who have better ideas about society as their knowledge is build upon studies, research and experiences gathered by experts from different fields. Secondly, authorities continuously receive the feedback from all over the country and accordingly update the academic subjects. For example, in India, nowadays due to various disturbing incidents of youngsters playing dangerous online games, government is now thinking of introducing internet and its appropriate usage as a subject in schools in the next session.

However, teachers should primarily focus on how to effectively deliver the information. They should decide when and how to teach planned subjects based on their experience and children capabilities. In other words, teacher’s capability is in teaching than in social or economic issues

Furthermore, most importantly, politicians or education minister’s role is to ensure the best quality of schooling through out the country. In addition, they compare different schools to know their needs of education resources in order reach the aimed level of education. However, if teachers of every school decide the subjects, then we would have situation of immense variation in standards and qualification, which is absolutely unfair to a child and also unhealthy for country’s progress in education system.

In conclusion, I have strong opinion that government and teachers have their distinct roles to play in education. Government officials should be kept responsibly for setting the school academic syllabus and regularly supervise the educational systems for its affectivity.