TASK 2 Fossil fuel, such as coal, oil and natural gas, is extensively used in many countries
which cause harms to the environment. The use of alternative sources of energy, including
wind and solar power, however, is being encouraged in many countries. Is this a positive or
negative development?
A great threat is posed when fossil fuels are burnt as these emit a number of air pollutants
to the atmosphere. To minimise this, a lot of nations have started using other forms of
energy like wind and solar. This essay will bring forth how fossil fuel is posing a menace to
the environment and the use of alternate source of energy as a step towards as a positive
development.
Fossil fuel produce large quantities of carbon-di-oxide when burned and obvious
problems such as oil spills and smog filled air. They also cause more
complicated problems that are not so easy to see, like acid rain. These fuels trap heat in the
atmosphere which eventually lead to climate change, also known as global warming. To
exemplifying the same, in the United States, the burning of such fuels, especially in the
power and transportation sectors, is responsible for three-quarters of carbon emission.
Thus, burning of fossil fuel is perilous for every nation.
Alternate source of energy implies the energy other than fossil fuels. This includes energy
from wind, sunlight, waves, biomass, etcetera. Using such forms of energy, instead of fossil
fuel, will significantly decrease the total amount of greenhouse gas emissions which would
prevent stronger climate change impact and further help the countries to combat the
problem of pollution by controlling it and reducing the same. For instance, Germany has
become a world leader in renewable energy by producing enough electricity in the year
2018 to power every household in the country for that year. It has also set an ambitious
target to get 65 percent of their electricity from renewables by 2030. Thus, use of alternate
energy must be embraced.
To conclude, it will be irrefutable to say that tackling with result of using fossil fuel is a big
challenge and must be minimised. Alternatively, renewable sources of energy should be
encouraged as it will lead to positive growth for the nations.