Telecommuting refers to workers doing their jobs from home for part of each week and communicating with their office using computer technology. Telecommuting is growing in many countries and is expected to be common for most office workers in the coming decades. How do you think society will be affected by the growth of telecommuting?

The advancement in technology has greatly impacted the conventional way of life, even sprouting to working places. In many developed countries, It is prevalent in many companies that the employees are working at home instead of going to the office as they can make use of state-of-the-art technology, wherever they are, to access the office resources and communicate with other peoples. This decoupling between workers and offices is known as telecommuting. In my opinion, it can have positive influences on society in term of economic and familial aspects.

To start with the economic aspect, this trend is more cost effective as it not only saves the cost of transportation from employees, but also diminishes the expenditure on renting office from employers, resulting to win-win situations among the employers and employees. In addition, reducing rental cost is one thing, freeing more space is another. Lacking of Land resource is a norm in many big cities. It is the telecommuting that allows company to free up more space to other businesses. As the number of business increases, so do the economy growth.

Another positive influence is that it can reinforce the family relationship, especially to the families in which both father and mother are working class. In many metropolises, it is common phenomenon that the parent cannot allocate much time on their child. Specially thank to the telecommuting, these parents can now have more time putting on their child as they no longer need time for transportation. Taking HK as an example, commuting usually costs 2 hours, the time already enough to bring the children to park.

All in all, telecommuting is the new form and modern way of working and it comes with many beneficial impacts to society. It is high time we should further promote this changes to all companies so everyone can enjoy the advantages.