There are fewer controls on the designs and construction of a home and office buildings. So, people can build them whatever they like.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It has often been argued that there are less than enough regulations on the structure and building aspects of residential and work premises, and this gives people the flexibility to build as per their will. I believe the benefit of better space utilization is clearly outweighed by the drawback of rising in the illegal constructions.

The primary advantage of lesser rules for construction of buildings is that people could use their spaces as per their need. This allows them the flexibility to plan the size of each room according to their future needs, and thus they could design the structure of their offices or homes in a way that people working or living in these buildings will benefit, in terms of comfort, the most. In India, for example, most builders today can sell apartments of customers’ choices due to the less stringent government controls for constructing buildings. But, this benefit is less significant as it persuades some people to deviate with even these relaxed rules.

However, these relaxed regulations are disadvantageous as many corrupt business people would take advantages of them in an illegal way. Not only this, but also they would construct their buildings by covering the land of other innocent people as states rules are not rigid enough to restrict them from doing so, and as a result, both good citizens and governments would suffer losses. In Gujarat, for instance, many cases of illegal constructions are being reported in the newspaper, called Times of India, almost every day as the State regulations are such liberal that any business minded person can manipulate.

In conclusion, although lesser laws for building different premises are beneficial in terms of flexibility to design the construction, I would argue that the disadvantage of increase in unlawful constructions is more significant.