There are many types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important and should it be preserved or is international music that is heard everywhere nowadays more useful to a society?

Ever since the dawn of humanity, music has become an integral part of every human’s life. Invariably, it provides enjoyment to the listener. However, few take pleasure in traditional music, while others treasure international music. In my opinion, any piece of music is important and should be preserved.

The beneficial effects of music, on both the physical and mental health of a person are established by numerous studies in this arena. For instance, music therapy has been successfully used to treat patients with Parkinson’s disease and stroke victims. Furthermore, music is one of the very few activities, which utilizes the entire brain and serves as an exercise to it. Also, it has been firmly established that listening to music while exercising, increases the duration that we spend in workout considerably. Hence, the need of music is indisputable.

Considering that both traditional and international music delight people, one cannot choose between them. Classical music boasts the culture and customs of the civilization they hail from and serves as a bond through generations. For example, many African tribes cherish music which is unique to them. On the other hand, international music transcends the differences among various societies and cultivates a feeling of harmony across the world. This holds true as a musician’s work in the western world can influence a patron in the eastern world.

Briefly, music is indispensable to mankind. Also, I embrace both the singularity of traditional music and the solidarity of international music. They serve humankind in their own way and the growth of one form of music need not be at the expense of the other.