There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family.

What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large family?

These days, the popularity of having small families is growing in most countries worldwide because of its advantages. However, some sociologists claim that it also causes plenty of social difficulties. In this essay, I will consider both benefits and drawbacks of this phenomenon.

The first advantage is related to special attention and care for a single child. Little families with one child can concentrate more on the upbring and invest more money on education of the single child, which allow them to grow into a mature adult, rather than to disperse limited resource on many children. Another benefit is associated with employment of both parents. In small families, all members can make a living and contribute to family income while their child is either at kindergarten or school, so they can afford holiday abroad or purchase a large apartment and cars. For example, in Kazakhstan many households choose to have one child and earn more money to improve the quality of life rather than have a large family and lead a impoverished existence.

Firstly, an only child tend to become a less socialized adult. Children growing up in small families are inclined to become both shy and reserved, because in comparison to their peers from large families, they only socialize with their parents on restricted topics and are usually unaware of friendship. Secondly, this tendency might result in aging population. In big families two parents are usually substituted by at least two children, which helps avoid aging population, but in societies, where small families prevail, aging becomes an acute problem. For instance, in Germany the government has to accept more immigrants, as young people are prone to form small families and raise a risk of breaking the balance between generations.

In conclusion, although there are a great deal of positive sides of having a small family, it also give rise to many problems in communities.