Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to the shortage of fertile land and different topography and climate prevailing across the global, countries import food from distant places. Whether food grown locally is better for the countries and environment? This conundrum is deliberated in the essay below.

It’s true that locally grown fruits and vegetables from regional farms are fresh and cheaper than items procured from far away distances. Primarily, the economy can avoid the transportation cost levied on the items purchased from far-off places, which reduces the prices of the daily food items. Furthermore, it provides local people source of income from selling home grown food items. Also, with bring in food items from other nations, the cargo is freighted by ships and planes. These modes of transportation use fuel to transport food items, which leads to greenhouse gas emissions.

However, the above argument has a flip side, due to varied temperate zones across the world, it is extremely difficult to produce all kinds of food items. Some plants need certain type of climate and soil to produce fruits and flowers, so it would practically impossible for desserts to grow tropical mangoes. To offer variety and keep up nutrition of the people, governments may have to rely on trading goods from other nations. With advancement in science and technology, even if the food items are grown in green houses and in labs, it will be an expensive affair to produce foodstuff at an affordable price. Also, to create the ideal temperature and to mass produce, farmers may use chemicals to convert an arid land into a fertile land, thus causing more environmental damage than getting it imported.

Based on the above discussion, it is would worth noting that one needs to strike a balance between reducing the carbon footprint and economic benefit that country can achieve.