Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers.

Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The world today has become a global village and food is imported and exported to distant places with the advancement in the field of transportation. I believe that benefits of using local food is better for the economic growth and environmental prosperity of the country. Although there are few demerits of relying on just local crop but in comparison I would say that merits far-weigh its demerits.

To begin with, the foremost reason to promote local food is to make it affordable to all its citizens. The imported foodstuff adds tax as well as transport charges, which makes the product costly. As the cost is finally paid by the consumer, it is always beneficial if the fruit or vegetable is grown in one's own country. It also raises the employment opportunities in the agricultural sector.This overall proves helpful for the overall economy of the country. Secondly, the consumer's demand for indigenous eatables can motivate people towards expansion of farms and agriculture, resulting in more fertile lands and green surroundings. The population would hesitate to ruin the land for industries and factories as they have the option to earn lively hood by growing crops, thereby proving beneficial to the environment as well.

The critics may argue saying that every country cannot have the geography, weather and suitable conditions for agriculture and farming; so, they have no option other than importing from distant countries. However, such countries can take the help of modern agricultural practices and technologies which can help them to combat the challenges. For instance, Israel has desert land, still it has advanced in agriculture and is exporting grains and other eatables to most of the countries worldwide due to its scientific approach towards farming. Although some counter agree saying that setting of the apparatus and taking technological help to create the artificial environment can prove difficult as well as costly for making their lands fertile.

To sum up, I pen down saying that despite few challenges, it is advisable to make the country self-reliant in terms of food because undoubtedly it helps in boosting economy and cleaner environment; thereby, prospering overall civilization.