Topic: Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has had a negative effect on their social lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In twenty-first century, we are in digital age where the time of technology bloom. In order to help people to communicate on the move, some innovative kinds of communications has been invented. Two of them are email and messaging which are becoming more and more ubiquitous and indispensable. However, decreasing the amount of time people hang out with their friends is its drawback. I believe the advantages will overshadow all of the disadvantages.

To start with, these advanced contact method helped people a lot in communicating. People find it interesting to talk to their friends in a new way. These days, people are busy on their works and don’t have much leisure time. In that case, texting is a perfect choice when they want to talk or confide. If there is something go wrong in the contract, the secretary can contact constantly to their boss by using a social network account. Furthermore, some introverts will have troubles when communicate face-to-face to another. To get rid of these obstacles, social network will help them. Being behind a phone screen or a computer will make them not to be as clumsy as in real life.

In my view, using these modern method to contact can help us communicate with people who live in another countries or continents. It can also expand our “friend-circle” and bring us more interesting friends. Some distant relatives who we hardly meet can call video with us in some special occasions. Like my aunt, on my grandmother’s birthday, because she could not come back home in time, she decided to call back to home by using Facebook. Not only Facebook but also Skype, Zalo, Viber, etc. can do the same thing.

As you can see, these kinds of social network is very convenient in their own way. To include, I think the advantages of them completely outweigh the disadvantages. The thing is we need to know how to make use of it and manage to restrict its negative effects.