Tourism is encouraged in many countries. Does tourism bring more advantages or disadvantages to a country.

People travel to break from routine, for business or other purposes. traveling to different countries helps vacationers to relax as well as exchange cultural values. Whether tourism is always good for a country? this conundrum is discussed in detail in the essay below.

Some countries like Maldives and Indonesia are known to be thriving on tourism backed activities. It helps the authorities to develop backward regions of the country and provide livelihood to their regional people. On a more social level, tourism leads to intercultural interaction. Tourists often engage and learn from the locals. tourism can also increase pride in locals. Because many people visit a place, the burning issues of that region can be brought to the world stage, such as, issues like deforestation of Brazilian rainforest.

On the other hand, there is a growing debate among academician about the concept of “over tourism”. there is an environmental impact on the places visited by many people. During the hiking season, the human waste, abandon mountaineering gears and trash is littered on the slopes of Mt. Everest. there are also recent reports of deaths due to overcrowding to reach the summit of the peak. Not only this, due to many people visiting the place, the ecosystem is disturbed and many wildlife and marine life have to face untimely extinction. For example, there is decline of turtle population on the Boracay island of Philippines.

Based on the above discussion, tourism does bring development to the region but can also disturb the local habitat. A balance needs to be achieved to boost the economy and minimise the damage to the country.