The trend of increasing tourism causes environmental problems in many parts of the world. What are the main causes of pollution it creates? What can be done to reduce it?

Whilst nowadays the advent of sophisticated innovations in transportations has changed the tourism industry substantially, the adverse side-effect of this phenomenon on the environment is concerning. I will discuss the main origins of the contamination and few suggestions will be recommended in order to mitigate this controversial challenge.

As critics point at several different players, who are responsible for damaging effects of the ever-growing tourism industry, there are two main sources for pollutions. Firstly, recently, the tourism industry tries to attract people by giving them a first-hand observation of the natural habitat of rare breeds. Although these journeys might be exciting, especially for adventurous tourists, the overuse of these trips have adverse impacts on the environment by interfering in the natural ecosystem, which might force the animals or plants to react and change behaviors to adapt to these uninvited guests into their local territories. Secondly, increasing international flights have contributed significantly to the emission of pollutions. While the advance airplanes make long-distance flights convenient, environmentalists mention figures, which demonstrate the extent these flights damaging the atmosphere.

However, there are still some hopes to tackle this issue, if the whole world takes it seriously. First of all, authorities should impose a higher tax on adventure trips into the wildlife. The collected money could not only decrease the amount of interference by decreasing these trips, but also could be used on plans to help local governments to preserve endangered animals. Besides that, there should be a worldwide awareness program to inform individuals about the burden on environments by increasing trips into nature. People should be aware that there would be no nature to enjoy in the future unless they act responsibly regarding the environment.

Taken together, there are two major channels on how the tourism industry affects the earth's environment. However, if we implement conservation programs, for instance by increasing tax on damaging trips, or awareness programs, we could hope that the next generation could enjoy nature as we do.