Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a ‘fat tax’ is unfair and unnecessary.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

With regard to the adverse influences of unhealthy eating on individuals and their living community, there is a rising opinion about applying duty fees for unhealthy foods, while numerous antagonists do not consent with the fairness and essential of that type of 'fat tax'.

As a matter of fact, the terminology of fat tax is still relatively novel and unfamiliar to the majority. Concerning it, plenty of opinions doubt its necessity since everyone might possess their own freedom to choose their diet. Once people already have an interest in that type of dish, the extra fee can not really interfere with their consumption. Moreover, the definition of unhealthy food remains unclear, which cause confusion about the types of nutrient they can uptake.

However, taxing unhealthy foods hold a degree of rationality. Since the ones who are not strict with their health and freely uptake harmful meals without concern might consequently suffer from high potential of various diseases while aging, particularly heart diseases, obesity, diabetes, or even cancers in worse. The increasing number of patients will put a heavy burden on society and the government regarding hospitals and healthcare facilities as well as require the enormous expense of medical insurance funding. Thereby, taxing those supplements can be considered a reminder for citizens to take responsibility for their dietary consumption and personal health. Moreover, the tax fee can be utilized to prepare for managing and attenuating the possible adverse impacts on society and the economy.

From my perspective, a fat tax is a beneficial solution to encourage people to incline toward a more active and healthy lifestyle. At the earliest opportunity, the government should introduce laws for that regulation with detailed guides and instructions to avoid confusion and acquire effective enforcement.