Using a computer everyday can have more negative than positive effects on young children. Do you agree or disagree? give reasons and relevant examples.

Essay topics

Nowadays, the number of hours spend by youngsters on computers have been increased exponentially. Although some feel that it is a negative development, I, however, believe that it has more positive effects on the children for two main reasons.

Firstly, being a computer addicted, children can study online by themselves as they don’t need to hire a teacher to fortify their academic skills. For instance, a student can easily understand Mathematics without any tuition as many websites have been providing questions and their solutions online. Although I concede that some students require a real teacher rather than any computer, many can learn by themselves. By studying regularly on computers, they not only explore more study resources but also become independent.

Another reason why youngsters should use their laptops every day is that they can stop themselves from playing outdoor games as air pollution is much higher than earlier, which could cause chronic health diseases. Although it could be argued that outdoor activities are essential for the physical growth of a child, I believe that due to the polluted environment, computers are the best friends of children. In addition, by playing games regularly on laptops, children can keep their brain active which inculcates problem-solving trait into them. A good illustration of this is online chess, which helps children to fortify their brains as they have to take quick decisions.

In conclusion, not only can the daily use of a computer make children independent especially at the academic level, but it also keeps them away from many health problems. Therefore, I believe that the regular use of a computer is a wholly positive development for young children.