When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Technology is advancing at a rampant speed and humans are trying to catch-up to this change. In the process, people are losing their regular way of living. Whether traditional skills or methods should be done away is a question to ponder. This conundrum is deliberated in the essay below.

New innovations are paving way for introduction of innovative gadgets in people’s life. Also, in olden days, for meeting a friend or a business partner, people used to travel to distant places on horseback. This is revolutionized by introduction of Internet, whereby, people can host webinars and conferences online and meet another person online without wasting energy and money. Many people used to make things by hand, which are now replaced by machinery. To achieve economies of scale and mass produce a commodity, use of machinery is beneficial.

However, there is a flip side; every discovery brings massive change in a way that a society functions. With the internet

people have lost the way they met people before. For example, Chinese are known for century for socializing over tea. The current generation has forgotten their unique age old tradition of communication and is ranked 1 for communication over phone. In past, people prepared food in a traditional manner like following ancestral recipes passing down from generation s like handmade pickles. Nowadays, people make meals using devices like micro ovens and food processors, whereby the nutritional value of food is lost.

Based on the above, it can be concluded that technology may be boon for many but could be curse for few. It depends how traditions and ways of life are being replaced by the technology in human life and sentimental is an individual towards retaining those traditions.