When people commit serious crime in most countries, they are sent to prison.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this approach?

It is undeniably true that lawbreakers should be punished with either imprisonment or in any other form of punishment. While few experts believe that the jail system would be beneficial for the society by locking up culprits, other would oppose this theory by pointing out a few demerits from prisons.

To embark upon, there are a plethora of advantages from lock-up. Nowadays, the crime rate has been a major concern throughout the world and by sending behind the bars for the breaches, not only number of offenses but also idea of doing crime would be reduced. As a result of this, it protects the dwellers from both violent and serious misdeeds and they can lead life more joyfully. In addition to it, it would give a chance to offenders to realize their violations and it might also assist them not to break the law yet again. Thus, after convicts are paroled they will find new ways to live instead of committing a felony.

Shifting toward the second school of thought, there are a couple of disadvantages from the same system. First and foremost, maintaining a sophisticated environment would be expensive to deal and this money will only come from either taxpayer’s pocket or from government funds, therefore, in some way, these are detrimental to any country's economy. Secondly, getting employment for prisoners who are released from prison would be a daunting task for them.

To conclude although there are few merits such as fewer crimes, punishing for the illegality, few drawbacks are also attached to it for instance expensive. Therefore, whether imposing a cell period or not is always been a debatable.