Write about the following topic:

Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed.

However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments.

Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Experimentation on animals has been conducted for years to carry out scientific researches. Although a certain number of people are against the notion and is vehemently opposing it, another group of people believe that without these researches it will be difficult to make crucial discoveries. This essay will delve in depth whether the method is justified before looking into other altenatives.

There are several reasons why experiments are conducted on animals. Although experimenting on any living being is extremely cruel but the genetic composition of certain species of animals, for instance monkeys, match with humans which enables them to react similar to the latter, Hence, this facilitates the researchers to discover how a particular medicine will affect on humans and the the possible side effects. Besides millions of people will be saved from facing severe consequences such as side effects from medicines or antibiotics.

However, there are very few alternatives to this issue. One alternate solution could be if people volunteered to replace these animals thereby aiding the research with valid data. Consequently, there may be a possibility of risking their lives and the scientific community will have to provide severe compensation for the occurance of any side effects which may permanently incapacitate the person or permanent loss of life. Moreover, the scientific community are continuously in search of better alternatives and have expermented with many species but they resulted in finding naught.

To conclude, though experimenting on animals is deemed cruel to the general society but unless there are volunteers who come forward to replace these animals or better alternatives are discovered, it is imperative for the betterment of the society.