Writing Task 2 (an essay)

Nowadays congestion and traffic jams are a common and major problem in most cities. Some people believe it is a good idea to construct wider roads to resolve this issue. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? What can be the solution, in your opinion?

In this age of urbanisation, with the rapidly emerging population traffic jams is the major headache of most of the countries. Some opine that widening of roads can eradicate this problem. I am strongly disagree with this option and in this essay I will put light on my thoughts which supports my view.

There are many reasons for increased traffic jams. The first and foremost reason is that nowadays people have lot of disposable income and due to that many people are able to buy the cars and they use the same for travelling a small distance which increases a traffic on roads. Secondly, people are alwasy in a hurry to reach their destinations and unnecessary break the signals and take wrong lanes that blocks the way for the people, coming from other direction and hence, blocking the traffic. Thirdly, despite designated parking lots, a lot of individuals are parking their vehicles anywhere on the road as per their convenience without thinking of the congestion it may cause.

Many people think that widening the roads can be one of the possible solution for this problem but according to me, roads are already wide enough for commuters to travel. To overcome this problem the government should provide timely and effective public transport so people are motivated to use the same instead of their private vehicles. Individual should opt for car pooling method, so they can save money and contribute in reducing traffic jams. Government needs to impose strict rules for individual who break the traffic rules and if they repeat the same, government should banned on their license.

To conclude, undeniably the traffic jams are increasing mostly in city areas which is becoming an alarming concern, however, by following traffic rules and imposing heavy fines to violators, by using public transport this problem can be controlled to an extent.