You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words

In Britain, Old people, after attaining a certain age frequently cohabitate with people within their age group and are taken care of by health workers. At times, the government is required to foot the bills for the care. Some people opine that government should fund the care while other people think it is the responsibility of the family. In my view, I believe it is the responsibility of the government to bear the cost due to reason that will be discussed in this essay.

Firstly, It is the duty of the government to provide a functioning health care system for it's citizens which includes old people, with functioning facilities and ensure the health practitioners are doing a proper job in caring for them. Although, there may be privately owned old people’s homes, these might not be affordable for an average citizen which emphasizes the need for government owned homes.

Secondly, a number of people have spent many years of their lives working and paying tax to the government for the sole purpose of providing them with basic needs, amenities and Old-age benefits. Therefore it is the right of the elderly people to request government funding for their health care owing to the fact that some families might not be able to pay the bills required for the care as a result of some old people not having any children to take care of them. In other words, it should be left for the government to handle the payments for their care.

In conclusion, while some individuals believe families should pay for their elderly one’s care, it is more of the duty of the government because they ought to provide a fully functional public medical system for the elderly and provide funding for old people who don’t have offsprings to care of them at old age.