You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Present a written argument to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic:

Some people believe that they should keep all the money they have earned and should not pay tax to the state.

Do you agree or disagree with the above notion?

Taxes are imposed upon the individuals by the governmental organization which contributes to the state’s revenue. Some people understand that the taxes enforced on the taxpayers are used to fund various public expenditures while other think otherwise. This essay agrees to this point that it is important to pay taxes to the government so that government can build better infrastructure for the countrymen and provide aid to the people during any natural calamities or disasters.

Government levy taxes for the betterment of the country and the countrymen. As, these taxes are the source of revenue for the state, it is the moral and legal duty of all the individuals to always pay their taxes in time. The funds collected through these taxes are used to build better transport, education and defense system of the country. For a developing country like India, the better infrastructure is really required as it further helps in improving the overall economy of the country.

In addition to that, government also uses these funds to provide aids to the people in need like in case of any natural calamities like floods, earthquakes or tsunamis. It is the responsibility of the government to give immediate and enough help to such victims. An article in one of the renowned newspapers claims that last year central government provided 100 crore rupees aid to the flood affected areas of Kerala on humanitarian grounds. All this money come from the taxes government levy on us. So, it is important to have funds available with the government which can be used during tough times.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that we should not keep our money to ourselves and must pay taxes to the government in time and help our government to build a better nation.