You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Scientists agree that people ruin their health by eating junk food. Some people think that the best way to prevent people from eating junk food is to educate them, while others believe that this won't work.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Write at least 250 words.

Modern life has changed many aspects of our lives and our appetite is one of them. There are growing concerns that the regular consumptions of fast food would lead to health deterioration. While some scientists believe the key to change this pattern is educating people about the serious downsides of these foods, some argue that other measures must be taken and it’s not the lack of knowledge that has reshaped our diet.

Fast food consumption is a relatively new diet habit of ours and it is growing its way into our lives day after day which has a substantial impact on our health. Collected data shows that the people who consume junk food at least 3 meals per week are more prone to heart deficiencies and are more likely to suffer from cancer. Scientists, by looking at these data, are encouraged to suggest that some warning signs should be imprinted on junk food packaging, like the ones that we are familiar with on cigarette boxes. Yet, lack of knowledge does not seem to be the case and there must be other underlying reasons.

Foods which are being made from scratch is phasing out due to a shift in our daily routines. The primary reason of massive fast food consumption is not the fact that people are not fully aware of its harm, but it is the fact that in our modern excessively-busy life, we no longer wish to spend time in the kitchen and fast foods are surprisingly fast and cheap. Yet, people could be educated about other fast and still healthier options as today there are a wide range of health-conscious restaurants that provide such alternatives.

I believe to tackle the issue of unhealthy food consumption, educating is a vital step but not an enough one. Therefore, we need a more sophisticated solution which tackles the underlying reasons, not the most visible one. Introducing alternatives which suit our today’s pattern of life is the step which we need to take so we can ensure our health is not compromised in our way toward modernity.