Young people in the modern world seem to have more power and influence than any previous young generation Why is this the case What impact does this have on the relationship between old and young people

Youths nowadays are deemed to have more role and impact in the society compared to that of in the previous era. In this essay, I will try to explore what factors drove this change in the first pace and what kind of impacts it gives to inter generations' relationship.

Firstly, young generation in this era put more emphasis on higher education. Thus, generally they are more educated and have more concern towards various aspects in society. This has become one major change compared to young generation in the previous decades, where tertiary education was still exclusive to those who came from privileged family. Secondly, I think the way this world gets more opened and connected because of internet and social media also led the youths to be more active in society. Not only do people now have platforms to share ideas, but we also can make use of these to meet people with same aspirations. This would then make it easier for people, youths included, to take more concrete action executing their ideas.

The way youths become more involved in society, inevitably would give some changes in the way they interact with older people. If in the past people were respected because of their age, nowadays this view has shifted in which people are valued from their competence and idea, not from their age per se. Moreover, young people has ceased to see older generations as authoritative figures whom they should follow and be afraid of, but rather as a source of learning and collaboration. For instance, Ministry of Education in Indonesia has hired several youths under 30 who are passionate and have fresh insight in education sector. The new staff and the 'older generations' in the Ministry are willing to collaborate together to solve problems faced related to curriculum or schools. The both parties respect and value each other regardless of their age differences.

In conclusion, I am convinced that a more open education access and availability to express opinions through internet are two important factors shaping youth bigger contribution in society. Their taking more concrete role hence have affected the way they respect and are respected by older generations.