72) Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades (marks) encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

Achieving something in life without a prior goal sometime becomes impossible. Honestly saying goals drive us. Everyday we are achieving small goals to accumulate for the big ones. I believe education system is also part of this and should be driven by definitive goals, mostly an outcome of a measurement system. The common measurement system used today, the grading system, I strongly believe is helpful for the students' learning. Because achieving them requires to fulfill definite goals defined by an objective measure.

First and foremost, definite goals drive students towards their excellence. Nowadays students do not study irrelevant topics. Area of the topics are clearly specified as science, arts and commerce from the high schools. This way students are confining their knowledge towards more specific area. Now they need a specific goal to achieve which is defined by grades. That's why the examination system is established which reminds students that learning is not a goalless process rather they have to apply their acquired knowledge to solve real problems. It is true that without the exams I may not remain that much attentive in class as I used to be during my under graduate. The required grades to sustain a presentable result driven me to be attentive in the class follow the schedules and try to engage the maximum effort to learn my subjects.

Furthermore, grades facilitate a objective measurement of students' achievements which in turn creates a competitive environment, what is, a primary component for prosperity. Students always try to establish an identity among their mates. Grades provide them with that opportunity to measure themselves within a group. Sometimes it sounds selfish but everyone is given the equal opportunity to create their mark. As all are not equal and competition cannot be avoided, to create a fair environment to compete is a primary goal of any educational system. I believe Grading system perfectly justify this requirement.

In conclusion education is a very important part of our life, and we all should take this seriously. And, so that, we do not derail from our goals, a definite and objective system of measurement is highly required. And I strongly agree grading system is one of the best in this breed to measure and manage students' learning.