Is the ability to read and write more important today than in the past? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When it comes to the issue the importance of reading and writing, some people believe that nowadays, people need to read and write than in the past. However, others have the opposite view. As far as I am concerned, the former point carries more weight. I take this position on account for the following reasons.

First and the most important reasons is that the ability of reading and writing makes life more convenient. With advent of industrial and technological revolution over the past few decades, our world has become inundated with machines and digital devices, which have made our lives more comfortable. Of course, modern equipment never is fully functional for us, if we do not read or write. I think that a small example can give some light on this matter. Today’s, most businesses and companies understand that people tend to their job as quickly as possible, so they present their services on the internet. People can use the Internet for paying their bills, reserving a hotel, purchasing a ticket for a soccer match. Having access these facilities depend on the ability to read and write. Hence, illiterate person likes a blind man, who can not do any things individually and always need others assistance.

A further point we must consider is that nowadays, majority of jobs are sophisticated. In fact, if you have more experts, you can have access many job opportunities, and vice versa. In this way, people go to the university to acquire more proficiency and experts, which lets them to gain better jobs in the future. However, illiterate person can not go to the university and have to work as a simple worker, because he is not qualified for many vacations. In brief, the ability of read and write allows us to go to the university, which brings many job opportunities for us.

Apart from points I made above, we are living in the information age, which we need to increase our knowledge more and more. As we all know, the new technologies makes the world as a small village, so that people are able to be aware of news any corner of the world immediately. Having more knowledge and information allows people to expand their limited world. Therefore, it is quite normal when you can not read and write, you can not be up to date, which causes you live in the limited world.

All above evidence supports this undeniable fact that the ability to read and write helps modern people to have comfortable life and put many job opportunities at their disposal. Last but not least, I hope that parents are aware of this point their children should be foisted for the future world, where they should speak with the international language.