Are parents the best teachers?

People are influenced by two different groups: family that they are nurtured and society which they live in. It is undeniable the intellectual, social, and behavioral influences of parents on their child. Although, some may claim that parents cannot be the best teachers for their own child, I personally believe that they have capacity to become the best teachers. In the following paragraphs, I will try to explain some specific reasons to support my view.

To begin with, parents can be the most caring, most committed, most influential, and not to mention, the kindest people any child can have. When the family's first child is born, parents embark on a sequence of experiences linked to the child's development - from infancy and toddlerhood through school age and adolescence and eventually to departure from the nest. Each of these stages in child's life makes a different set of demands on parents. They create environments that learning process can happen. Parents usually spend a great deal of time with their child, thereby having considerable effects on them. They teach their child rudimentary skills such as how to walk, to speak, to play, and to eat and tend to transmit the valuable lessons learned through experiences they have made to their child.

Also, they do not judge their child and let them express their own opinion quite free. This definitely helps the child declare his or her own view while having no fear or stress. Knowing the child's genuine opinion, parents can teach them how to discriminate between right and wrong. This leads the child's personality to be shaped.

Next, compared to the parents, some may believe that school teachers are the best teachers. Despite that parents may be as erudite as the school teachers, but I cannot concur more with the fact that what a child learns from his or her parents is more important than that from the school teachers. Teachers teach us wide variety facets of science such as biology, chemistry, physics, and geology. But parents teach us how to be a morally good person, how to be strong enough to overcome any encumbrance that we might be faced with in our life, and how to offer solace to people who need it.

Last but not least, no matter how old a child is, I think that individual still needs to learn things from the parents. Moreover, parents' commitment to the child obliges them to sacrifice part of themselves for the betterment of their child. They want their child to be far superior and they do their best. So, I think that they are the best teachers.