Believing or not the newspapers

While the primary purpose of newspapers issuance is informing and updating the society on different subjects, they can lead to misinformation as well. Some people believe that newspapers cannot be relied upon, and it is so naive to accept what is written in papers without scrutiny. On the other hand, there are people who believe that newspapers are the thermometers of society and, despite some narrative flavoring and excitions, the core information they provide should be regarded as true. I personally agree that it is not reasonable to believe whatever we read in the newspapers for the following reasons.

First of all, the funding and financial considerations may affect the management of a newspaper to spread some biased information. For example, I remember a local paper started issuing multiple articles on the biohazards of tomatoes produced by some local greenhouses. After a while, it was revealed that an opponent producer had paid the editor to write negatively about his rivals. There have been a significant number of discovered cases of fraud and dishonesty among editorial boards of newspapers around the world, which all rooted from monetary incentives.

Second, the political partisanship is part of news professionalism. It is well-known that depending on the political inclinations of the editorial board of a newspaper, the reporters cover only some specific aspects of the news. The way a single piece of information is organized and provided can lead to specific perceptions. For example, when a left party paper enthusiastically advocates a rally, the right wing papers discourage participating in it. Both the papers give strong and apparently logical arguments; however, none of them cast the light on all aspects of the rally, in order to cast a guided notion to the readers’ mind.

Finally, newspapers should have enough revenues to stand the huge expenses of professional journalism. Keeping the readers enthusiastic about a specific newspaper, and eager to continue their subscriptions is not easy. Exaggeration and storytelling techniques are required to attract the readers. Therefore, there are always some kind of white lies in the stories that are sold to us as information.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that being skeptic of news and not regarding them as true unbiased information is much wiser than unconditional trust.