The best way to travel is in a group, led by a tour guide. Do you agree or disagree?

Travel is an essential part of the holidays in the western part of the world. Some people choose to travel with travel agencies, while others prefer to schedule the travel by themselves. This essay will discuss why is it in fact better to travel without the traveling agency and plan every step on your own.

Firstly, traveling with an agency means travelling in bigger group of unknown people, with unknown habits and preferences. The tour guide is a person who has to take a lot of different needs into account when planning the travel. That means for instance that some people will walk faster, some will walk slower and it can be hard to find a middle ground. On the other hand, traveling without the guide means not only avoiding all the aforementioned difficulties, but it also brings more freedom into planning each and every day.

Travelling with an agency oftentimes mean having a tour guide. He or she is the person you will be seeing every day of your holiday for the whole time. But what if this person doesn’t fit you, what if their personality is annoying you? There is no way of escaping this situation because it is already paid for. By planning activity on your own it is easier to avoid this type of situation. You are surrounded only by the people whose personality you already approve of, which means there are no unnecessary surprises.

Thirdly, traveling with an agency is oftentimes more expensive than traveling on your own. The accomodation and the schedule is given to you, even though some places or hostels that are offered might not be the person’s choice if planning on its own, because of the price. Furthermore the agency is obliged to charge more, because it has to cover for the tour guide and all the travel preparation expenses. However travelling on your own can spare you all of those and it can in fact be an interesting journey of discovering something new and unknown by yourself before the actual travel.

To sum it up, in this essay the disadvantages of traveling with a travel agency are listed, as well as advantages of traveling by yourself.Based on the arguments explored above I am of the opinion that it is better to travel without the tour agency, because of its price, the possibility of a bad leader and the annoyance of waiting for others and having to adjust to so many different needs. Meaning that planning by myself would be the best choice for me, because of its endless possibilities, more freedom and less stress.