Boys and girls should be educated in separate classrooms using different teaching techniques.

Formal education we get from school requires us to learn together with classmates, which can be both boys and girls, or separated. I personally think that gender has little to do with learning technique, and so teaching technique is not defined by it.

We’ve all heard the stereotype that girls tend to be more diligent than boys. Just like all stereoype, that’s not always the fact. It all comes back to each of their personal goals, what they need to accomplish and how they want to reach it. Some students want to work hard to accomplish their goal, while others are relatively more laid back. It doesn’t matter as long as the goals are accomplished. Other than responsibility to learn in school, students are also required to socialize with his/her classmates. Socializing with both gender can increase the social skills and make students understand how to deal with other people from both gender.

From the teacher’s side, teaching technique is personal and each teacher can have their own style of teaching. It all depends on how teacher understand the needs of his/her students and the approach they think best for the situation. If we want ideal teaching technique, it can be done by teaching each student with the approach suits them best. However, that cannot be possible in the setting of a classroom with a lot of students and only one teacher. The most feasible way is to use a flexible approach depends on the situation and the subject taught. That way, both teacher and student can improvise to explore the subject that needed to be mastered.

In conclusion, the separation of gender in classroom is not necessary for teaching reason. Learning technique is individual and affected by many other factors. The teacher understanding of the students’ need is the most defining factor in the teaching technique choice.