Children over the age of 15 should be allowed to vote.

In this democratic era, every vote counts to people who want to become the next leaders. Each vote would determine the shape and policy of the nations in several years to come. However, not all people have the right to vote. Most nations only allow citizens over the age of 18 to vote. Some people suggest the age constraint should be changed to 15 to reflect more diverse voters. Although this idea is plausible, allowing children over the age of 15 will probably backfiring.

First, children at the age of 15 still do not have enough maturity to vote. At this period, most of them still rely on their guardians. Furthermore, they are easily influenced by families, friends, or any other people. Their dependant behavior possesses a threat if they are allowed to vote. For example, they may vote a candidate just because their parents or friends vote the same person. This is not the essence of democracy. People should vote because of their personal wish and not being influenced by others. Not only that, candidates may easily bribe these children because of their lack of maturity. At some point in the future, this policy may work well because of the changing children behavior, but it is going to take some time to be implemented.

Second, these children have more important issues to think. In the period of age 15-18, children should focus more on school because they need to attend college. Their vote is not going to help them to admitted into top universities. Instead, they should study, do extra-curricular activities, and make positive achievements as a portfolio for university applications. Not only that, the decisions made by future political leaders do not have much influence on these children. This is why they do not have to focus their attention to vote yet, and should prioritize their own future.

By only including people over the age of 18 to vote, elections should already represent the whole nation. Although changing the age limit into 15 may reflect more groups, this may not change the outcome and substance of the election significantly. As a person who works in the education sector, I prefer to see these kids study for their own future.