Compare and contrast your way of your life with that of your parents. Which way of life do you think would be more satisfying for the next generations?

In today’s world things and technology change rapidly and people oftentimes experience many different eras over the course of one lifetime. My generation and the generation of my parents seem so different that one could assume they are hundert years apart. The rise of technology, many human rights movements, much faster way of living - this all happened in just 50 years. In my opinion life in the era of my parents was healthier and more satisfying than life today.

This essay will discuss why I think that it is more beneficial for the future generation to experience my parents type of life and not my own.

First of all, life in the era of my parents was happening on the streets and in the nature, in contrast to our life in front of the screens today. My parents had more face to face interactions among themselves than we have today. Furthermore, not only did they know their neighbours, but they actually hanged out with them on a daily basis. In the present era, people communicate as well, but more through the screen than in person. For example, when I lived alone, oftentimes I would just type on my computer for few days straight, without real conversation occuring, which at the end made me feel unhappy. And since I value happiness as the most important part of life I think that future generations would be happier in the previous era.

Secondly, the era of my parents was much simpler. Those times were mindful and more peaceful, mainly because people didn’t have so many choices as we have today. Contrary to general opinion that more choices equals more satisfaction, studies have shown that it is in fact the opposite. In other words, more opportunities often times mean more stress when making a decision. Having said that, I would love the future generations to experience the times when people actually had less choices, but explored them deeper and with more attention and gratification.

Finally, my parents have learned so many different useful skills throughout the span of their lives. Meaning, they have learned not only skills necessary for survival, but also the creative and fun ones, like chopping wood or making toys. On the other hand, we have relied on technology today so much, that we forgot to teach ourselves even basic survival skills. For example, my mother knows how to cook much better than me, because she needed to maintain this skill in order to eat, while I rely too much on the restaurants. In my opinion children of the future would appreciate having all the aforementioned skills and would use them greatly.

All this being said, I think that people of the future would benefit much more from the lifestyle my parents had, than from the lifestyle I maintain. To sum up, they wouldn’t be surrounded with computers, but with real people which leads to higher levels of happiness. They would also live a simpler and more attentive life than we live today with many more acquired skills.